T E B CLARKE OBE (1907-1989)

T E B Clarke
related pages...

The Written Word

Spelling out the writers and poets

This Is Your Life

The 200th edition is marked with comments from past subjects

Wilfred Hyde-White

THIS IS YOUR LIFE - Thomas Ernest Bennett 'Tibby' Clarke, screenwriter and novelist, was surprised by Eamonn Andrews in the foyer of the BBC Television Centre.

During the 1950s Tibby wrote several of the Ealing comedies, such as Passport to Pimlico, The Titfield Thunderbolt and The Lavender Hill Mob, which won him a Best Original Screenplay Academy Award.

T E B Clarke

T E B Clarke with Eamonn Andrews on This Is Your Life

programme details...

  • Edition No: 136
  • Subject No: 136
  • Broadcast live: Mon 31 Oct 1960
  • Broadcast time: 7.30-8.00pm
  • Venue: BBC Television Theatre
  • Series: 6
  • Edition: 7

on the guest list...

  • John Heyman
  • Michael Trubshawe
  • Edward Wass
  • Alec Fripp
  • Monja Danischewsky
  • Basil Dearden
  • Filmed tributes:
  • Sir Michael Balcon
  • Wilfred Hyde-White

external links...

production team...

  • Researcher: Shirley Macnab
  • Writer: Peter Moore
  • Director: Michael Goodwin
  • Producer: T Leslie Jackson
names listed in bold indicate subjects of This Is Your Life
Series 6 subjects: Leonard Cheshire > George Bennett > David Sheppard > Sybil Thorndike > Clarence Wolfe > Charles Coward > T E B Clarke > Helene Jeanty-Raven > Cyril Smith > Victor de Spiganovicz > Bill Hartley > Ellen Martha Field > Anthony Deane-Drummond > John Mills > Richard Bancroft > Freddie Mills > William Simpson > Alan Herbert > Madame Vacani > Elizabeth Ambridge > Robert Fawcus > Flora Robson > Edward Chad Varah > James Zarb > Maryan Rawicz and Walter Landauer > James Chipperfield > Anthony Kimmins > Thomas Cosmo Jones > Jessie Matthews > Helen Wilson > Charlie Chester > Brunel Cohen > Godfrey Winn > Billy Wright